You are here

11/03/2018 to 11/11/2018

This year, the USAPA National Championships will be held in Indian Wells located just outside of Palm Springs, California. The facility is home to the BNP Paribas Open – the largest combined men and women’s tennis tournament in the world. IWTG features the second largest tennis stadium in the world – an impressive 16,100-seat Stadium 1 – as well as a permanent 8,000-seat Stadium 2. The venue also boasts 28 world class courts and will soon be adding championship pickleball courts to the site.

The sport of pickleball, often described as a hybrid of tennis, badminton and ping pong, is much more than a game. It’s a way of life for a community that continues to grow exponentially, thanks to its appeal with players from the young to the young-at-heart. Played on a badminton-sized court with the net set to 34 inches high at the center, players volley a perforated plastic ball similar to a wiffle ball with a composite paddle about twice the size of a ping pong paddle. Pickleball can be played indoors or outdoors as singles or doubles. The game has a passionate following due to its friendly, social nature and multi-generational appeal.

Dates:  November 3-11, 2018

Open Registration: Staggered registration was offered on Aug. 1, 2018. Click here for a registration update as of Aug. 2.

  • Open and 5.0…………………11:00 AM PDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 2:00 PM EDT
  • 4.5 (all ages, all skills)…….1:00 PM PDT, 2:00 PM MDT, 3:00 pm CDT, 4:00 PM EDT
  • 4.0 (all ages, all skills)……3:00 PM PDT, 4:00 PM MDT, 5:00 pm CDT, 6:00 PM EDT
  • 3.5 (all ages, all skills)…….5:00 PM PDT, 6:00 PM MDT, 7:00 pm CDT, 8:00 PM EDT
  • 3.0 (all ages, all skills)……7:00 PM PDT, 8:00 PM MDT, 9:00 pm CDT, 10:00 PM EDT

2018 Participation Requirements (all players):

  • Participate in a minimum of one USAPA Sanctioned Tournament between November 15, 2017, and October 31, 2018, or participate in a USAPA Regional Tournament between July 15, 2017, and October 31, 2018.
  • Open event entrants must have a minimum of a 5.0 USAPA Rating by July 31, 2018. Events may open up to 4.5 USAPA rated players, depending on participation levels in each event.

Qualified Pre-Registration Begins: July 15, 2018 (click here for details)

Tournament Ball: TBD

Tournament Directors:

  • Co-Chair:  Christine Barksdale (Email)
  • Co-Chair:  Anne Reynolds (Email)
  • Co-Chair:  Kyle Klein (Email)

National Championships Committee (announced soon):

Events

Announcement: Revised Event Structure for 2018. Click Here to Read Details.

Skill/Age – Singles, Doubles, Mixed Doubles  

Under 35               3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0

35 – 49                   3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0

50 – 54                   3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0

55 – 59                   3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0

60 – 64                   3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0

65 – 69                   3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0

70 – 74                   3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0

75 – 79                   3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0

80+                         3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0

Open Singles, Doubles, Mixed Doubles
Open, Senior Open (50+)

*Juniors 8 – 18
8-12, 13-15, 16-18- may be adjusted based on participation.

  • *Junior divisions are open to any junior that is interested in participating, no participation requirements.
  • *Juniors may opt to play in the Open Events but must meet the participation requirements. May not mix and match Open/Junior Events.
  • *Juniors may participate in under 35 Skill/Age Events if participation requirements are met.

2018 Court Details

Courts (40):

  • Up to 40 fully painted Plexipave courts
  • 1 fully painted Plexipave Championship court

Nets:

  • High quality, above ground semi-permanent nets designed specifically for this event.
Schedule of Events

Visit the website for complete details on registration, schedule and FAQs.